SAFF Women's Championship 2022: Fixtures, results & standings – Khel Now

The 2022 SAFF Women’s Championships will be the sixth edition of the tournament. Nepal will be the host country of the tournament that will see national women’s teams from the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) associate countries.
It begins from 6 September 2022 onwards and will be played until 19 September 2022. For women’s football enthusiasts, in particular, this is one of the major events of the year and one that will see intense competition. It plays a key role in showcasing the brilliant quality of the national women’s teams in South Asia. 
Here is all the information that one needs to have at hand as the 2022 SAFF Women’s Championships come close to its inception:
As aforementioned, the upcoming edition of the SAFF Women’s Championships will be its sixth edition. There will be seven countries participating in the tournament and the fans will be hoping their respective women’s national teams can come out on top. The Indian women’s team has won all five of the previous editions and are strong favourites to retain their title.
The Blue Tigresses are also the highest-ranked team (58) at the tournament. Other participants include Nepal (hosts), Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, and Sri Lanka. The last edition saw Nepal meet India in the final where the result was 3-1 in the favour of the latter. 
A total of seven teams are participating in SAFF Women’s Championship 2022. Apart from hosts Nepal and India, the other nations are Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan and Pakistan.
Teams have been divided into two groups of four and three teams respectively. Teams in each group will play each other once in a round-robin format. The top two teams from each group will then advance into the knockouts stage.
Dasharath Rangasala Stadium in Kathmandu will be the venue for the tournament. The stadium has a capacity of 25,000 spectators and it is also a multi-purpose arena. It is situated in Tripureshwar, Kathmandu. The Nepal Super League fixtures also take place at this venue and it will be interesting to see which team comes out on top at the end of the tournament here.
The seven national teams are divided into two groups at the 2022 SAFF Women’s Championships. Here is how the teams are divided:
Group A: India, Bangladesh, Maldives, Pakistan.
Group B: Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka
Bhutan 0-4 Nepal
India 3-0 Pakistan (Match Report)
Bangladesh 3-0 Maldives
Sri Lanka 0-5 Bhutan
Pakistan 0-6 Bangladesh
Maldives 0-9 India (Match Report)
Nepal 6-0 Sri Lanka
Maldives 0-7 Pakistan
India 0-3 Bangladesh (Match Report)
Semi-final 1: Bangladesh 8-0 Bhutan
Semi-final 2: Nepal 1-0 India, Match Report
Final: Bangladesh vs Nepal, 4:45 pm IST
11 Sports is live streaming the matches across Asia. Meanwhile, fans can also watch the streaming online on the AP1 HD channel.
For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and join our community on Telegram.

© 2022 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd. All rights reserved.

Forgot your password?

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive mail with link to set new password.


Leave a Comment